Hello all!

monty1

I'm in Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, B.C. and have been interested in wild mushrooms for about 20 years. I'm interested in hearing from others who are likewise interested and especially from those in my area. But also from other distant places to compare what different types of mushrooms are available there. Some of the more available types I've hunted for and found here are Chanterelles, Morels, Cauliflower, Boletes, Hedgehogs, and a few others. I'm interested in branching out a bit and trying to learn to identify other edibles.

Hi, Monty. Welcome!

The board is a little slow right now, but I didn't want your post to go without a reply, even though I'm a relative newbie.

Hopefully others will be along soon who can offer a little more help! :)

Hi Sunny One and thanks for the welcome! I can understand why it's slow around here right now but it probably won't be long before things get humming and the mushrooms start appearing. I've found Chanterelles here in Nanaimo as early as August 1st. but that won't happen this year due to hot and dry weather. However, I've been reading some reports from Ohio that tell of good Chanterelle harvests.

Welcome to the board, monty1! Depending on what part of the country you reside, you are either knee deep in mushrooms or in a holding pattern waiting. This appears to be one of those banner years for parts of the east coast and midwest for chanterelles. I was in Montana for a few months picking morels and porcini but now I'm back in SW FL and the spots where I go mushroom hunting and photographing are under water and closed at the moment.