Mushroom challenged

Katie

I’m starting to get so discouraged. I’m in Rhode Island and went two days after the rain and then one day after and haven’t seen any mushrooms for beginners, let alone black trumpets. Do they like a darker forest of near the edge of water? I’ve looked under oaks away from the path, I’ve looked by moss. Nothing! 

I can’t find Chanterelles either. What am I doing wrong? Please help. Is it better to go first thing in the morning as opposed to 4pm. Help! 

As a beginner I can really only hunt for chicken, hen, black trumpets, chanterelles, etc. Nothing gilled yet until I am more experienced. Someone said boletes but which boletes? 

In NJ trumpets are in season. But they are not everywhere. Over the years I found few spots but they produce year after year. Most are along trails and not deep in the woods. They are hard to spot when they are mixed with fallen leafs and needles. And I find them in one forest/park but not in others which are similar looking, so go figure. 

In NJ Chants are past season. Most are gone and I do not collect them much anyway. They are usually small and sandy. I can wash sand of trumpets with some multiple vigorous washes but not off chants.

I have not seeing hens this year yet. I do see chickens

You can try boletes. It is rather safe if you pick something what is not bitter, does not have red pore surface, does not have strong blue staining. You can always post pictures here before trying to eat something

I've been hunting mushrooms off and on for years and this is the first year I've ever seen black trumpets and the first year I've found large numbers of any chanterelle. The best way to find chanterelles in my opinion is just to go out and enjoy looking at all the mushrooms. As mentioned above they can be very spotty. You might find none at many similar places and then suddenly lots of them.

You are not doing anything wrong.  They are rarely easy.