Fall Mushrooming in PA

SSgirl7855

Hey everyone!

So this is my first year attempting a fall mushroom hunt...I am usually out in the spring aggressively harvesting morels, fiddleheads, ramps, nettle, etc... so I figure I could try my hand at some fall foraging. 

Could someone help me out with what should be out this time of year? Ive seen puffballs for sure...but Im thinking hen of the woods and chicken of the woods should also be out (or have been out), right? Any other common mushroom suggestions to add to my list?

I always mean to do some late summer-fall hunting, but my timing is just never any good :(

Much appreciated....Can't wait! Thanks

I assume you mean edible mushrooms. Besides chicken and hen of the woods, there should be plenty oysters, Leccinum and Suillus species, as well as honey mushrooms (careful with identifying the latter as it has plenty pousonous lookalikes), blewits (careful confusing with poisonous Cortinarius, Entolomas etc.), hedgehogs. I'm sure I missed a few.

This time of year in SW PA I'm finding hen of the woods, honey mushrooms and aborted entalomas. Did I spell that right??? lol I have also found some toothed mushrooms too; bearded tooth, combs tooth and that other one. Think bears head tooth. 

I believe the proper names are:

Grifola frondosa (hen of the woods, sheeps head)

Armillaria melea, A. gallica (honey mushrooms) A. tabascens (ringless honey)

Entoloma abortivum (aborted entoloma)

Hericium erinaceus, H. corraloides and H. americanum 

( bearded tooth, comb tooth, and bears head tooth)

The toothed  are my favorites. 

Forgive me if I misspelled any or mixed them up. Haven't had much mushroom hunting time this year. I believe it is a good time of year for pluerotus (oyster mushrooms also!!!....